Awesome Con DC

Saturday I had the opportunity to attend Washington DC’s inaugural comic convention, brought to you by Awesome Conventions. The experience was a lot of fun. I was super impressed by how well put together the con was and how smoothly everything ran. Running around, taking pictures and asking questions, I only had the chance to attend a few panels, but the ones I did go to were amazing. When asked, many people told me this was their first convention ever but based off the experience they were definitely excited to start going to more. All in all a great experience, and my hat’s off to the folks who put it together.

I took A LOT of pictures but I tried to sort through and pick just a few to share. And by just a few I mean quite a few.

Myself and Ben Templesmith, one of my favorite comic book artists of all time.

Myself and Ben Templesmith, one of my favorite comic book artists of all time.

IMAG0217

Myself and Ernie Hudson, star of films like GHOSTBUSTERS and many others.

Myself and Ernie Hudson, star of films like GHOSTBUSTERS and many others.

Myself and Theodus Crane, "Big Tiny" on THE WALKING DEAD.

Myself and Theodus Crane, “Big Tiny” on THE WALKING DEAD.

Myself and Justin Jordan, comic book author and illustrator.

Myself and Justin Jordan, comic book author and illustrator.

Myself and Nicholas Brendon, Xander on BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER.

Myself and Nicholas Brendon, Xander on BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER.

 

Sam Ellis, the guy behind ARCHER.

Sam Ellis, the guy behind ARCHER.

 

The members of the "Star Trek vs. Star Wars Debate" my favorite panel. I got the chance to chat with them a bit before the panel, really nice guys.

The members of the “Star Trek vs. Star Wars Debate” my favorite panel. I got the chance to chat with them a bit before the panel, really nice guys.

IMAG0200IMAG0199

IMAG0201

IMAG0203IMAG0205IMAG0209IMAG0210IMAG0226IMAG0274 IMAG0245

~ by The Falling Skies Blog on April 22, 2013.

5 Responses to “Awesome Con DC”

  1. Looks like fun was had by all! 🙂

  2. No Phil LaMarr? I met him. I got his autograph and photo

  3. I haven’t been to a Star Wars vs. Star Trek debate panel, but I think it sounds silly. Can’t we all get along? I like both. even Carrie Fisher said they’re not in the same universe so therefore they’re not comparable. Something else was going on at the time, so I wasn’t able to attend

  4. The panel was just kind of a good way to blow off steam between the fandoms. I personally sided with SW out of principle, but I am also a fan of Star Trek, I was just raised with SW a lot more growing up.

    Sadly I didn’t have time to meet with Phil. I was hoping to get a chance to catch up with him later in the day on Saturday but things didn’t pan out.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  5. I was there too!!!!! Can’t wait ’til next year!!!!!! That, and my post on Awesome Con will be up before the end of this week!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    http://www.christopherfitzgeraldtv.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
