Why We’re Here and Thank You

seriable-obs-543928

I haven’t done this in a while, but I wanted to take a minute and seriously thank all our readers, followers, fans, and everyone else. We would be absolutely nowhere without all of you.

I started the Falling Skies Blog so I could stop talking to myself about science fiction, Falling Skies in particular, and because trying to hold an intelligent conversation on the IMDB boards with anybody but Lauren and KidCarnival was basically impossible.

Along the way I made some awesome friends and got the opportunity to write for one of my professional heroes, Robert Prentice at Three if By Space. Robert was basically my mentor first starting out. He freely gave me advice on how to write, what to write, what to avoid and how to avoid going crazy as a member of the indie internet press. He took a chance on me and let me write for him covering sci fi news and reviewing TV shows back when the only writing sample that I was able to submit was a 400 word character review of Ben Mason.

The awesome folks at Agency 71, Rock It Promotions and Story Engine Pictures supported me 100% every step of the way, opening doors for me that I wouldn’t have been able to on my own even if I kicked at them for years.

Yes, I started writing about BLACKBIRD because of the Falling Skies connection via Connor Jessup, one of my favorite actors of the past few years. But I started the Road Less Traveled because I love Canadian film. It deserves to take its place on the world stage as much more than a subset of the United States film market, way more than the “Hollywood North” mentality that has prevailed for the past decade at least. Canada has a unique and storied history, and that comes out in the amazing films this country puts out every year. I knew that I had to do my part to make sure that people in the US and Canada KNEW that these amazing films were out there and new ones were being made all the time.

I had no idea that all this would take off at all, let alone become a place where 100,000 people came every single month to read our crazy opinions and theories. I am absolutely stunned and humbled that even when there was no Falling Skies news, thousands of people still checked out the site everyday. Even when I was writing pretty much exclusively about BLACKBIRD and totally ignoring the fact that Falling Skies is in the name of the blog. Then I merged the RLT on here and the people starved for Canadian film content came pouring in, reading my stuff.

I don’t know if I can take much credit, seeing as most of the great Falling Skies stuff you guys read is written by my amazing authors. We are a ragtag group of FS enthusiasts who somehow came together and made it all work.

So once again, thank you so much for sticking by us and above all:

Keep the Resistance Strong!

And:

Keep Calm, and Watch a Canadian Film!

proxy

~ by The Falling Skies Blog on April 16, 2013.

3 Responses to “Why We’re Here and Thank You”

  1. Thank YOU for running this blog and I absolutely love hearing/reading about Blackbird. You’re doing an awesome job!

  2. Thank you for the encouragement! Hopefully we’ll have news about the German release soon. I know it is released in France June 12th!

    • You’re welcome. The premiere date for the German TNT channel is June 11th. But this is pay tv.

Leave a Reply

 
