Season 3: More from My Bag’o’Demands

Now for the continuation of my requests and suggestions for Season 3! Bear in mind there are NOT predictions. They are just my own personal preferences for where I think the show should go. Find my previous demands HERE.

Matt needs to continue his progression into a fighter. I think, even more than Ben, Matt Mason has been defined by his family. And this makes sense, to a certain point. Matt is very young in Season 1 and 2. It’s no secret that starting season 2, I was firmly on the side of allowing Matt to train to become a fighter. Or, if not a fighter, then at least being able to defend himself. He was, and is, the exact age group the skitters target for harnessing. Tom was wrong for demanding Matt attempt to have anything approaching a normal childhood. Hal, in the Season 2 premiere, was doubly wrong for using Tom’s flawed desires to prevent Ben from teaching Matt how to shoot. I previously diagnosed Matt with reactive attachment disorder and a compulsive need to please anybody but his dad. But, to be honest, if my father seemed as dedicated to making me a helpless victim as Tom is to Matt, I would probably listen to anybody else too. You already had one kid get harnessed Tom, are you going for the trifecta and couldn’t see a way to stop Hal from picking up a gun first? The good news, Matt started stepping up somewhat in the last arcs of Season 2, and I see no reason, and no evidence based on released photos, that he doesn’t continue it. The bad news, his hair makes it look like a poodle died on his head in some BTS photos.

Go on. Tell me that isn't a dead poodle on Matt Mason's head.

Go on. Tell me that isn’t a dead poodle on Matt Mason’s head.

This brings me to…

Tom Mason needs to get over himself. Sorry Elizabeth. But I couldn’t allow Tom to escape unscathed. But seriously, get over yourself Tom. My God. There’s overbearing parents and there’s Tom Mason. There are dangerous idealists, and there’s Tom Mason. And he’s all over the place in even those roles. From ignoring Hal’s dangerous obsession with pursuing Maggie so he can giggle and mess around with Dr. Bimbo. And yes Hal, it is obsession when you ask a girl out, she says no, you try to kiss her, she says no again, and you keep pursuing her; no matter what romantic comedies try to tell you. He tries to prevent Ben from doing important work with the skitter rebellion. And as I previously stated, he does his best to turn Matt Mason into a helpless cowering victim if the skitters ever make it through the rest of the 2nd Mass. Let’s not forget he bravely stood up to Bresseler. For instituting military rule. When Tom himself had been living in a combat situation, under military rule, for over a year. It’s the gosh darn apocalypse Tom. Give you son a gun, quit playing grab ass with the doctor, and let soldiers do what they need to do.

The New Aliens: Neither Ally nor Enemy. This is one both a prediction and a demand. My opinion is that ally or enemy is the wrong question. The question is: what do they want? Because nobody travels interstellar distances just for the hell of it. But friend or rival is too simplistic. I hope the writers have more creativity than “We’ve seen the bad aliens, the Overlords, here’s some good aliens now. Gooood aliens. Nice aliens.” It has been closely debated that obviously the weapon in the Season 2 finale wasn’t meant for humans, and was almost certainly meant for these New Aliens, so I won’t rehash that. Obviously the dynamic has changed. So, my hope is that these New Aliens are enemies of the Overlords, but really couldn’t give a crap about humans. They’re here to fight the Overlords. If the humans want to fight them too, great. Otherwise stay out of the way and let the spacefaring civilizations beat on each other.

More demands may be coming up.

Keep the Resistance Strong!

~ by The Falling Skies Blog on December 28, 2012.

3 Responses to “Season 3: More from My Bag’o’Demands”

  1. First, let me say how surprised I am that you didn’t even mention Ben once. Are you in a 12-Step program???

    That said, again I agree with everything you said and am so tickled at the phrases “Dr. Bimbo” and “grab-ass” that I’ll let your comment about Matt’s hair slide.

  2. Greg, I’m not mad at you, no worries, but I will confess my LOVE for Tom Mason, I do LOVE him! ❤ 😀 Tom, just needs a little push on the right path, and I can do that for him. 😉 I do love the picture you picked. 😉 Great article, will you have another one of more demands coming soon? 🙂

  3. YES! That is a poodle up there, I swear! I sincerely hope it isn’t on the show, it won’t help Matt’s progression into adulthood any. How am I supposed to take that seriously?? LOL! Sorry, couldn’t resist. I have a mean streak. I agree with you about Matt needing to grow and LEARN TO SHOOT A GUN, FOR GOD’S SAKE. I loved the idea of Ben teaching him, who better than the older brother with the alien enhanced skill set?

    I also agree that Tom really needs a wake up call. His character started out strong in season 1, but in season 2 he really was all over the place. And spending waaaay to much time with Dr. Bimbo…I mean Anne.

    Basically, I agree with everything you said here Greg. My favorite lines are these:

    “Let’s not forget he bravely stood up to Bresseler. For instituting military rule. When Tom himself had been living in a combat situation, under military rule, for over a year. It’s the gosh darn apocalypse Tom. Give you son a gun, quit playing grab ass with the doctor, and let soldiers do what they need to do. ”

    AND

    “I hope the writers have more creativity than “We’ve seen the bad aliens, the Overlords, here’s some good aliens now. Gooood aliens. Nice aliens.”

    😉

Leave a Reply

 
