More Perfect Union: A Mixed Bag?

Contributing Author Tammy returns to give us her take on the Season 2 finale! 

More Perfect Union: Now What?

Ok, so this isn’t going to be anywhere near as long as my usual posts, but I thought that I should weigh in on the season finale, Charlestrap and where the 2nd Mass goes from here.

First off, let me just state while Ben is not my personal favorite character, he is AWESOME (hopefully Greg’ll now post this).

Second off, I do have to admit that there will be no mention of a certain character with the initials J.P. in the article, so if you are waiting for that please turn away now.

Ok, so here we go…

My quick thoughts on the finale first; First, Breseler is by far my least favorite character and has my nomination for the Red Shirt of the Decade award.

I will miss Dai and really think his character was done a disservice not getting to know him better. He’s going to be missed as much as Jimmy is missed. Red Eye! OMG, Ninja Skitter is dead? That was by far the most shocking moment for me (yes, even the big shocker at the end didn’t startle me as much as Red Eye’s death).

Now I hate to say this, but all I thought on my first watch of the finale about the big cliff hanger was, “Huh, look, another alien”. That’s it, not any is it good, is it bad, just “Oh lookie, it’s another one that I’m going to have to add to my classification scheme, nifty.”

I just didn’t see it as nearly as shocking as Tom getting in that spacecraft last year.

Now here’s what might get my “Contributing Author” card revoked. I’m not ticked by the whole Tom/Anne/Baby Mason thing. I just don’t care. I hope that we’ll see some reactions from Ben and the rest, but really, they can go and do whatever they want with the head of the Mason clan (sorry Elizabeth, please don’t unfollow me, look at it as more Tom for you).

I do have an issue with the whole Hal and the Eye Booger thing (love that Beth!). I mean, why are the aliens picking on the Masons? What’s so awesome about them, as opposed to say, the Weavers or Tector or pick-a-character-any-character? To me, it’s getting a wee bit old and stale.

Ok, so I know that everyone has been reading the articles coming out about the next season about Charleston and the 5-story arc with Robert Sean Leonard and thinking that the 2nd Mass is going to stay put. I just don’t know. Why do they HAVE to stay put just because RSL is going to be in 5 episodes? Is he a shut in? Is he paralyzed? All we really know is he’s going to be a creepy sewer dweller that likes rats and runs the power grid. If Charleston ends up having something bad happening to it (thereby validating our suspicions finally); then everyone is going to have to get the heck out of there.

Cause I am with everyone else, the 2nd Mass needs to pack the heck up and head back out and get back to what they do best, killing aliens. If they have to stay around Charleston for a good part of the season it is going to be a teeth grinding season.

Anyway, to wrap this up, the season finale wasn’t too bad; not as good as the season 1 finale and certainly didn’t leave me on the edge of my seat. What has been being hinted at with for season 3 has left me a bit worried, but I have to hope, hope, hope that the writers can write themselves out of any plot landmines that they have set up in the finale.

Viva La Resistance, ya’ll

Oh and one more thing, we REALLY need to put a 50 cal round in Karen’s skull.

And Ben is awesome.

Tammy is a Contributing Author here at THE Falling Skies Blog, I believe is in love with John Pope, and knows what to say to get me to publish her stuff…Ben IS awesome.

She can be found on Twitter, @laughing_coyote, where links to her blogs can be found in her Twitter bio.

Keep the Resistance Strong!

~ by The Falling Skies Blog on August 24, 2012.

2 Responses to “More Perfect Union: A Mixed Bag?”

  1. Regarding Karen, I have a very large friend who has volunteered to eat nothing but beans, broccoli, and beer for a week and lock himself in an airtight room with her. Game over.

    I think Hal and the other Mason boys are now a target because Tom personally has beaten the Overlord at every turn. He snatched Ben back from his captors, survived torture aboard the ship, grabbed the zapstick from Red Eye and gave the Overlord a goose with it, captured him, and then shot him. Good on him, but it ruffled some fish head feathers.

  2. I’m not against the aliens picking on Hal at all. He was the black sheep of character development long enough and needed the alien booger to get more interesting; more than Weaver and Tector. Sure it would have been nice to give Lourdes or Anthony something to do, but they are just underused and haven’t done much (Lourdes) or anything (Anthony) to offend the viewers. Hal on the other hand has a lot redeeming to do and make up for stupid, boring scenes.

Leave a Reply

 
