Getting Ready for “Death March”, Chopping Block Thoughts

I usually post predictions and theories for the upcoming episodes on Thursday or Friday, but I have some stuff rattling around in the noggin, so I figured some early predictions couldn’t hurt. I can’t believe it’s only Tuesday!

I wish I could say that I was more excited for “Death March”. Of course, I am excited in general for a new episode. But, with the prospect of a possibly Ben-less episode looming, it is hard to build up the sense of expectation I had, for example, “Molon Labe”. At least we have Pope and Anthony there to keep us company, and push the story forward (fine Elizabeth, Tom too…).

Obviously, the name “Death March” is pretty ominous. I can’t say for sure that they will kill off more recurring characters after the appeasement of the Chopping Block last week, with the sacrifice of Jamil and Boone. But, we can’t discount it either. The creators have done a really good job of rarely “red shirting” anyone so far, as in introducing a character at the beginning of the episode and killing them for dramatic effect an hour later. It is hard to think who may die, if anyone does. Every time I think of someone, I immediately go “nope” in my head. I can’t see Dai going, or Maggie, or Hal (no matter how much he should), I think if Matt was going to be killed this season, it would have happened in “Molon Labe” (how dramatic would it have been if he had been killed in the blast that Tom set off to kill the mech? There’s a season worth of dramatic guilt, shame, and character growth for Tom right there!), Weaver ain’t going anywhere, neither is Tom, Anne, or Lourdes. Well, actually, New and improved Fatalistic Lourdes, I could see her doing a mad rush at a company of mechs, with a flare in one hand and a machete in the other, shouting “They will never take our FREEEEDOMMM!!!” Come to think of it, new season 2 characters with names and lines are getting pretty thin on the ground…

With all that in mind, I am forced to conclude that the most likely candidates for death are nameless, hopeless extras shambling and then running around the background (seriously, where all those extras always running off to?) Another possibility (which WOULD be red shirting) is the Previously-Harnessed-North-American they find on the road in the previews, who for now I am calling Suspicious Scaly Lizard Girl, or SSLG. My current theory is that SSLG is a trap, but is unaware of it. We see something that looks suspiciously like a Resident Evil Licker (think of the cross-market branding opportunities!) on a window as Matt, who seems way too close to SSLG, screams “Dad help!” So, the Overlords drop SSLG, who has been infected with the T-Virus, off in the middle of the road to Charleston. She befriends the littlest Mason, and then, unbeknownst to herself, turns into a Licker. Tick tick boom, calling it right now.

That’s it for now. I wanted to push this one out while I was still at my desk at work. Expect more predictions, like what the heck Pope knows about Maggie that we don’t, later today!

Keep the Resistance Strong!

~ by The Falling Skies Blog on July 31, 2012.

5 Responses to “Getting Ready for “Death March”, Chopping Block Thoughts”

  1. Yeah, bay-bee! Really resenting the Olympics and hoping out of spite that the Chinese win everything. Take that, TNT!

    Anyway, I’m with you. I think Scaly Girl is a trap like Karen. The aliens have used children against the humans before, knowing they have a hard time seeing them as anything but kids. Maybe the Overlord, if he’s still alive, is trying to get at Matt when he failed to get Ben. Harness a second of Tom’s sons and use him as a bargaining chip?

    Whatever’s licking the window on the short bus looks pretty evil. Gotta love that.

  2. I really enjoy your blog. Hmm…why do you think Hal should go is the question I have for you. I just hope there isn’t anymore death this week, but I fear there will be. *sigh*.

    thank you for sharing these.

    Jennifer AKA @JenniferRux

  3. I say Scaly Girl is a love interest for Matt. Hey, they broke up Lourdes and Jamil, you really think the writers pass on the chance to make a new couple? lulz

Leave a Reply

 
