Quick Thoughts on Tom

We should have a Guest Article on Tom written by one of his super-fans sometime this weekend. But, in discussing some good scenes from “Molon Labe” some thoughts came to me about Tom I want to share. 

As I have said, my favorite scene was Ben desperately (I know, I know, my favorite word when it comes to Ben!) trying to explain to Tom that he has to leave, his bringing up of the American Revolution, etc.

Then we have the final scene in “Molon Labe”, where Ben leaves. I think it tied in nicely with the character change we’ve seen in Tom so far this year. He went from staunchly defending Matt’s right to a childhood (seriously dude? It’s the apocalypse.) to allowing Matt to carry a gun and have responsibility. He went from seeing the invaders as an abstract concept to rail against with patriotic speeches to finally realizing we are most likely going to have to kill them all. Culminating in him realizing that he just can’t hold on to Ben forever, that he has to let go for now, that Ben has important work elsewhere that really only he can do.

Keep the Resistance Strong!

~ by The Falling Skies Blog on July 27, 2012.

One Response to “Quick Thoughts on Tom”

  1. Although I ocntinue to be critical of the Tom who has time for a gigglefest of a romance while spider lizards have invaded with who knows what purpose, I like him quite a bit. He’s first and foremost a father who–I hope–will always choose what’s best for his sons.

    Letting Ben go was probably the hardest thing he’s ever had to do, but I don’t think he had a choice. Ben was in danger not from aliens but from the 2nd Mass itself. The goodbye scene was beautifully written and acted.

Leave a Reply

 
